RSS

Don’t Be Afraid of Journaling

13 Oct

I am convinced that the reason a lot of people don’t journal is for one or more of the following reasons…

  • They think they aren’t a “writer” and worry about spelling and grammar and style
  • They think they don’t have time
  • They don’t know what to write about

Journaling is NOT about the perfect expression of anything. It’s about clearing the crud out of your brain so it has room to think a new thought. When the junk is on paper, you don’t need it in your head anymore.

So here’s a quick way to make that happen. It takes no time at all, and I’ll tell you exactly what to write about. I call it Bulletpoint Journaling.

You can learn this technique most easily with a topic you have neutral feelings about. Start with a color, for example. Write “Purple is…” at the top of a page. Set the timer for 2 minutes. Now make a list of EVERYTHING that comes to mind that can complete that sentence. No editing. No stopping. Just whatever comes to mind. Don’t let your brain say, “No, it’s not.” … if you think it, write it down!

Ready? Go.

Purple is…

  • regal
  • the color of grapes
  • happy
  • a bright
  • the color of iris & pansies
  • unique
  • the mix of blue and red
  • the surprise bloom on my Morning Glory
  • the color of my walls
  • my Massey’s favorite color
  • majestic
  • Barney the dinosaur

Now try it with an animal, a feeling, a flower, a favorite place.

I think you’ll find that the action of not pressuring yourself to write more than one word or a short phrase makes this accessible and easy. It also creates an environment where your mind is allowed ANY thought. Then the ones that surprise you can be explored more carefully. While Bullet Journaling can be fun and interesting just to see what you get when you think on a color or object or place, this topic is most effective for me when I have to work out something I’m not sure I fully understand yet.

  • The reason I feel sad is…
  • My family is…
  • I wish I could…
  • My home is…
  • My work is…
  • I am frustrated with…
  • My God is…

Try it. And let me know how it works for you. Then come back tomorrow to see how to use this list to pull back another layer in your journaling path to self-discovery and finding beauty in unexpected places.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 13, 2011 in Abundant Life Small Group, Challenge

 

2 responses to “Don’t Be Afraid of Journaling

  1. Lillian

    October 13, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    Great ideas Beth. Thanks for sharing.

     

Leave a Reply

 
